ENDIVE-ing into my first Challenge

I was very excitd about my first challenge today. I’d been playing the “What If” game all day. What if I get lamb? What if I get peppers? What if I get honey? The list of “What Ifs” is endless of course.

So, what did I get?

Photo2

I will admit that shrimp and mushrooms crossed my mind as they are relatively normal staples in our house. But I never would have guess Kale or Endives. I have NEVER cooked or worked with either. And yes, that is dark chocolate on that plate.

True to Master Chef Mystery Box rules , I was not requried to use all of the ingredients and I was allowed to shop in the pantry. I had 60 minutes to create only one dish. And of course, I chose not to use the chocolate.

So, I turned on my cooking music choice of the night: The Fray. This is what I did:

First, I finely chopped one white endive and one tomato and mixed them together. I dropped this into a saute pan with olive oil and 2 cloves of minced garlic.

While that sauteed, I cut the stems and centers out of the mushrooms and placed them on a foil lined pan.

After sauteeing the vegetable mixture, I spooned it into the mushrooms and popped the into the over at 350 and set a timeer for 15 mintues. I need to study other ways to cook endives. This website should be a great starting point. If anyone out there has other ideas for endives, please send them to me!

While the stuffed mushrooms cooked, I rinsed and dried the shrimp. I used about 1/4 cup of conconut flour, a handful of crushed macadamia nuts, a teaspoon of ginger, and a teaspoon of chipotle powder to lightly coat the shrimp. These ingredients are Paleo Diet friendly, which is a diet we try to follow about 75% of the time.

I placed the Kale in a steaming basket. While that steamed, I began a homemade dressing. I used about 3 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and a touch of spicy mustard. I used Maille mustard which we bought while we were in France. I haven’t had much luck finding it here, and I don’t want to pay the prices on Amazon, but any spicy mustard should work.

Next, I pulled the mushrooms out and added a dollop of goat cheese to the top (leftovers from a goat cheese and roasted red pepper topped burger over Labor day!). I put them back in the oven to continue cooking.

Finally, I sateed the shrimp in coconut oil for about 5 minutes. Side note: Coconut flour doesn’t really get crispy, it absorbs too much liquid. Just be prepared for that. While it cooked I pulled a few leaves off of the red endive, and turned them into dressing boats.

I plated the dinner, and this is how it came together:

Photo5

Overall, it was a tasty and generally healthy meal. The only thing I would change is the spice combination on the shrimp. Actually, the combination was fine, maybe just more spices would be more to my taste.

The verdict from my husband: “Yum, yum, yum!” His favorite part was the shrimp and my favorite part was the stuffed mushrooms.

We created our own rule for our version of Master Chef: If I fail a challenge (don’t finish on time, or it isn’t very good), I have to do dishes. If I finish on time and the dish is good, he has to do dishes. Guess who is doing dishes tonight…

Photo6

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “ENDIVE-ing into my first Challenge

  1. cdklightsey says:

    Fascinating Brandi! Looks very yummy. I don’t think I could pull something like that together with a cookbook much less without.

  2. Robert Mattax says:

    Brandi & Joe, I love this SOOO much. I can’t wait to see more adventures. This is almost enough to encourage more trips to LEX. :p

  3. AndreaTRomo says:

    This is fantastic Brandi! If there’s one thing I learned at Savor Pittsburgh last week, it’s that I don’t have the creativity to be a chef or bartender 😉 I’d love to see your take on chili, since there are so many ways to make it. I mean, football season has begun, and a girl’s got to eat!

Leave a Reply

