The Olympics of Pizza

One of the things I love about living in Lexington is that there is always something fun happening. Tonight was the Bluegrass Pizza Bake Off.

Pizza_competition

There were pizzerias and home chefs from the Lexington area competing for best traditional pizza and best non-traditional pizza titles. The overall grand winner, voted on by the public tasting and three professional judges, will win a trip to Italy to compete with the USA Pizza Team. Who knew there was an olympics for pizza!?!?!

The lugged several large pizza ovens into the Fifth Third Pavillion and the baking began!

Photo16

We got there a little late because of our running club, so we didn’t get to try all of the pizzas. There were 22 different traditional pizzas and 22 different non-traditional pizzas. We were full after trying 4 samples of each!

Photo15

When it came time to vote, it was a nontraditional pizza that won my heart. I don’t have a good picture of the one I voted for, but the best way I can characterize it is a Bacon Cheeseburger Pizza. It had ground burger, mustard, ketchup, bacon, onion, and even pickles. It was delicious.

I’m going to have to keep my ears open for the winner. Good luck in Italy!

I’m going to use this event as inspiration. I think I’ll have a non-traditional style of pizza challenge in the near future. Look for the post!

Leave a Reply

