An En-THAI-cing Meal

Photo47

Tonight’s challenge held several surprises for me. Joe got really creative! From top left moving clockwise: plain yogurt, thai rice noodles, salmon, radishes, and plantains. Just to be clear…I’ve eaten all of these things, but I’ve never purchased or cooked with radishes, rice noodles, or plantains. My one hour clock began and I started improvising!

First, I mixed yogurt, capers, and lemon juice into a mixture for the salmon and wrapped them in foil packets. If I had real lemons, I would have used those instead of the bottled juice. I put this into the oven at 350 degrees.

Photo54

While the salmon baked, I cut the plantains into a saute pan with butter and about 1 tablespoon of brown sugar.

Photo51

Then, I thinly chopped the radishes and spinach.

Photo53

I boiled the rice noodles for about 5 minutes and added them to a wok with olive oil and minced garlic. I tossed the radishes and the spinach into the noodles.

Photo50

The salmon baked for about 45 minutes and was served with the rice noodles as a side. Here is the final dish!

Photo48

I added the plantains to the plain yogurt, mixed in several tablespoons of honey, and topped the dish with crushed macademia nuts.

Photo49

Overall, a great couple of dishes. Reflecting on it, the dish seemed a little monotone in colors even though the capers, spinach, and radishes were all intended to add color. Colors aside, the flavors were great. It was also a very filling meal. I would highly recommend the honey, plaintain, macademia yogurt dish for breakfast.

I would be a terrible person if I didn’t acknowledge my special kitchen helper. Ok, so she doesn’t really help, in fact, she gets in the way a lot. But, it is always nice to have her under my feet.

Photo52

One thought on “An En-THAI-cing Meal

  1. […] papaya into bite sized chunks. I have only cooked with plantains one other time and tried to make a sweet and healthy dessert with them. I took the plantains in a completely different direction this […]

Leave a Reply

