The Yeast I Can Do Is Share this Creation

Have you figured out my teaser from yesterday’s blog yet? Here’s the big reveal…

I recently stumbled across a great blog called My Kitchen Addiction and the author posts a Kitchen Bootcamp Challenge each month for her followers. This month’s challenge is baking with yeast.

I have to admit that the extent of my experience with yeast involved following the directions on my bread mixes for my bread machine and letting the machine do the work. I considered a crust fromn scratch including yeast for my recent pizza challenge, but the idea was a little scary.

Jen, who writes the blogs for My Kitchen Addiction and decides on the Kitchen Bootcamp Challenge, allows her readers to use any resources they want as long as they do something different to make the recipe their own and push themselves to learn something new.

I decided to go with making bagels (I have a handy bagel slicer that I barely get to use!) and found this basic recipe as a starter.

First, I mixed and kneaded the ingredients for the dough (2.5 cups flour, 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 packet of yeast, 1 cup warm water). You are supposed to knead for a total of 15 minutes. I spent about 10 minutes on the dough alone.

Photo74

I prefer a savory bagel to a sweet bagel, so my ingredients of choice were finely chopped sun dried tomatoes, spinach, cheese trio (romano, asiago, and parmesan), and garlic powder (about two teaspoons). I kneaded these ingredients in for the final 5 mintues of kneading.

Photo75
Photo72

Next, you shape them into bagels and let them sit for 15-30 minutes.

Photo73

After, they’ve risen, you boil them for 15 seconds on each side.

Photo77

After patting them dry, I added a little more of the cheese mixture to the top for baking.

Photo68

It was easier than I thought it would be! They only bake for 15 minutes, but they smelled so good while baking! This particular combination would make for a great hearty breakfast with cream cheese or a great sandwich bread for lunch! This makes me want to try more new combinations of toppings/fillings for bagels. What are your favorite bagels?

Photo71

This is not something I would have ever thought to try on my own. I hate that I missed out on previous Kitchen Bootcamp Challenges. I think I’ll retroactively attempt some of the challenges over the next few months.

And I’m not only sharing my creations on my blog, my co-workers are in for glazed pumpkin donut-muffins and Spinach, Sun-dried Tomato and Cheese bagels tomorrow!

One thought on “The Yeast I Can Do Is Share this Creation

  1. Joan Hayes says:

    So glad I found you and this recipe over at the bread challenge. Bagels are on my baking bucket list. Your combination of flavors has me drooling. Can’t wait to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

