A Three-In-One Challenge

You may have noticed that I hadn’t had a “real” challenge for a while. Sure, I’ve been blogging about some minor experiments in the kitchen, but this past week just didn’t allow much time for cooking. It is weird that I’ve only been doing this for about 6 weeks, but going one week without a challenge was hard. I was thinking about it all week. Joe knew that I’d been craving a challenge, so he created a three-in-one challenge for me today.

Photo95

There were only two ingredients: shrimp and fresh cranberries. My challenge was to make three different kinds of shrimp and use some of the ingredients in our house before they go bad (similar to a post about using what we had earlier this week), and I was only required to use the cranberries in one dish.

The hardest part was deciding what I wanted to make and then sticking with it. I kept changing my mind throughout the challenge. Me? Indecisive? Never…

Shrimp Dish One

I skewered some of the shrimp and put them into a baking dish. I used the homemade garlic butter I made a few days ago (here is the updated solidified picture) to coat the pan and the skewerwd shrimp and let it bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Photo92

Every now and then I would pull it out and use a brush to coat the shrimp with the garlic butter and turn the skewers. This dish was good, and would have been dynamite in a pasta if I had any in the house. The really cool part about it was the use of the homemade garlic butter.

Photo93

Shrimp Dish Two

For dish two, I simply boiled some shrimp and made some minute brown rice. The creative part came in with the cranberries. First, I boiled them with a tablespoon of sugar.

Photo96

The cranberries were still SUPER tart, but I didn’t want to add more sugar to them. Instead, I used chunks of cantaloupe we had leftover from a fruit tray with pumpkin yogurt dip to cut the tartness. Their mildly sweet flavor was helpful without overpowering or clashing with the taste of the cranberries.

Photo89

I pureed the fruit together and this mixture went over the shrimp and rice. Next time, I’ll put less cranberry and more cantaloupe.

And, I’ve saved the favorite of the three dishes for last…

Shrimp Dish Three

For the third dish, I made a crust mixture of flour, panko crumbs, cumin, coriander, and finely chopped sundried tomatoes from another cooking adventure. I dredged the shrimp in egg and then the crust mixture, cooking them for about 3 minutes in coconut oil on both sides.

Photo91

Photo94

I served this over a homemade coleslaw. I used a leftover half of a cabbage from a crockpot meal, a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, a tablespoon of sugar, a tablespoon and a half of mayonaise, and a tablespoon of spicy mustard. I put this in the manual food processor (one of my favorite things ever from Pampered Chef) to mix it well.

The final presentation:

Photo90

Now to figure out what to do with the rest of the cranberries. Any suggestions or favorite recipes?

2 thoughts on “A Three-In-One Challenge

  1. MMM says:

    looks great!

  2. Shana says:

    Try something called Nantucket Cranberry pie, its delish and tart! Oooor, scones? Muffins? Or, bake with porkchops?

Leave a Reply

