Risotto

One of the foods that appears to be the most challenging on Hell’s Kitchen is risotto. I’ve enjoyed eating it, but I’ve never made it. Before I branched out too much, I decided to just learn how to make the basic risotto first.

The basic risotto starts with olive oil, butter, and onion.

Photo99

After the onion is slightly browned, add the arborio rice and stir until coated with the oil and butter. Once coated, add a broth of choice (vegetable, chicken, broth) to barely cover the rice. Beef broth was all I had on hand, so that’s what I used!

Photo98

As the risotto swells and the liquid reduces, keep adding broth. I cooked this for about 25 minutes while constantly stirring. I added leftover cheese from the bagel challenge.

Photo97

I thought it turned out well. I do want to make something a little more unique and challenging with risotto though. I looked for some inspiration and found mushroom risotto, butternut squash risotto, and bacon risotto.

I sought out Chef Ramsey for more advice as I imagine what my own risotto would taste like, and I’ll leave you with this video of him giving risotto tips….

Leave a Reply

