Crockpot Wednesday – Creamy Cayenne Mushroom Soup

As I worked on last night’s food challenge to make Orange Tilapia foil packets, I was digging around the refrigerator looking for veggies to serve with the fish. I noticed that I had not one, but two, types of mushrooms hidden away behind other packages. Oops. I already had last night’s dinner figured out, but knew that I would need something for crockpot Wednesday (make sure you check out my other posts about Crockpot Wednesday; for example Curry Chicken, Cabbage, and Peppers). I decided that I would take a stab at a mushroom soup to warm me up after our recent dip in temperatures (from 70 to 40 degrees overnight!)

I had your regular white button mushrooms and I had portabello mushrooms left from my Italian inspired salad. While waiting on the fish to bake, I chopped all of the mushrooms to save myself some time in the morning. I added a coarsely chopped half of a white onion and minced 3 cloves of garlic. I put a lid on it and put it in the refrigerator overnight.

Photo156

This morning, I put all of this into the crockpot with 3 cups of chicken broth. I don’t know what you think, but mushrooms are always a little bland to me. I decided to put a tablespoon of black pepper, a tabelspoon of cayenne pepper, 4 tablespoons of butter, and about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese into it. I turned it on low and let it cook until I got home later that day.

Photo161

I blended it (it looks gross but I’m not done yet).

Photo160

Last, I added a can of evaporated milk and heated it through.

Photo158

After taste testing, I ended up stiring in a little more cayenne pepper just to make it nice and spicy. You can adjust the spices to your own taste, of course. I finished it off with a basil leaf and cayenne (unstirred) for a touch of color. Enjoy!

Photo159

 

 

One thought on “Crockpot Wednesday – Creamy Cayenne Mushroom Soup

  1. Keisa says:

    I’m definitely trying this one, Brandi. I love mushrooms and I want to learn to make soup. When do you have time to do PhD research, cook all this, and write about it??

Leave a Reply

