Crockpot Wednesday – Black Bean Soup

I’ve been perfecting my crockpot black bean soup for a few years now. It is usually a vegetarian dish that we have. This time, I’m using the dish to make use of two things I had left over from past meals. First, I had black beans from my Mexican food challenge where I made Verde Beef and Bean, Vexican, and Chorizo Popper Topper. Second, even though I used leftover Thanksgiving ham in my Twice Baked Ham and Potato Casserole, I STILL had ham left. So, I’ll share my simple black bean soup recipe with ham. You can stick to the black bean recipe or add ham or some other ingredient. I bet chicken would be good. Whatever makes you happy!

Ingredients

1 bag of black beans

2-3 cans of broth (chicken or veggie)

2 cans of green chilles

2 cans of chopped tomatoes

1/2 onion; chopped

1 clove of garlic; minced

1 green pepper; chopped

1 cup baked ham; chopped

jalapenos, cheddar cheese, sour cream (garnish)

First, I soak the black beans in water over night.

Photo170

I add the beans to the crockpot, add broth until the beans are covered (chicken or veggie; whatever I have on hand), 2 cans of green chilles, 2 cans chopped tomatoes, 1/2 of a chopped onion, 1 minced clove of garlic, and one chopped green pepper. I like my soup thicker and this will be pretty thick after the beans are expanding all day. Keep some extra broth on hand if you may want it to be a little more soup like.

Photo171

And this time, I’m adding chopped ham.

Photo172

I leave this in the crockpot on low for about 8 hours. You can top this with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and jalapenos. I only had cheddar cheese, so that finished off my soup.

Enjoy!

Photo173

Leave a Reply

