The Gina Special

I haven’t had a real food challenge all week thanks to the busy end of the semester craziness. But that is ok. I’ve had plenty of fun making up meals like my paleo crab cakes and asparagus soup and gonig out to eat at places like Doodles.

When I went into the office today, I had a special package hagning on my office door from my sweet friend Gina. She brought me two beautiful butternut squash from her garden. I was immediately inspired and came home to whip something up for the crockpot (and it isn’t even crockpot Wednesday!).

First, I poured coconut milk and red curry paste into the crockpot (leftover from curried chicken and cabbage). I added pickled ginger (leftover from homemade sushi). Finally I added ginger and curry powders.

Photo194

Cut the butternut squash and the chicken into bite sized pieces.

Photo197

Add the squash and chicken to the crockpot, stir to coat well, and cook on low for 4-6 hours.

Photo195

You can serve this over rice, eat it as is, or serve it with a salad. We went with the salad to keep our meal consistent with the Paleo diet. I also liked that the spinach added a little color to the plate. Thanks to Gina for making the Gina special possible!

Photo200

Looking for another butternut squash recipe? Check out this cream of butternut squash soup.

2 thoughts on “The Gina Special

  1. Gina says:

    Looks amazing, Brandi! Thanks for sharing and making me a household "name." Love you, girl!

  2. […] the dried cranberries, but it still turned out to be pretty good. In past posts I’ve made Butternut Squash and Chicken Curry and Butternut Squash […]

Leave a Reply

