Venison and Pepper Chili

It is now officially cold outside. With snow in the forecast for tonight and tomorrow, I wanted to share my own version of chili. This was also a request in the comment of a friend in my very first cooking post!

While home for the holidays, my dad helped to load me up with fresh venison – the first critical ingredient for my chili. I’ve made chili with beef and turkey, but none of it can compare to the venison. It is so flavorful and lean. You don’t have to drain any fat off of the meat because there isn’t any.  I begin with 2 lbs. of venison and brown it.

Image30

While the venison is browning, chop two bunches of tomatoes ripened on the vine. I like my chili to be chunky, so these are slightly larger than diced.

Image29

I combine the venison and tomatoes into a large pot. I use the same pan where I browned the venison to sautee 2 chili pepper, 2 jalapenos, 1 onion, and 1 green pepper in a little olive oil.

Image31

Next, I add 2 cans of hot chili beans. You can choose mild or original if you don’t like as much heat in your chili.

Image32

Then, I add 2 packets of original chili seasoning. Maybe one day I’ll try making my own. This is the one place where I don’t go “hot” so that I can balance out the other hot ingredients and multiple peppers.

Image33

When you mix this all together, it will look very thick. Too thick.

Image34

However, as it simmers, the tomatoes release enough water to reduce the thickness.

Photo204

I let it simmer for 5-6 hours. Top it off with sour cream and shredded cheddar!

Photo206

One thought on “Venison and Pepper Chili

  1. MMM says:

    Where is the beer?

Leave a Reply

