Chocolate Covered Shot of Energy

In a recent food challenge, I had to find a way to use whole coffee beans with trout and scallops. While it turned out surprisingly well, I had a ton of whole coffee beans left over. I don’t own a coffee grinder or a regular coffee pot for that matter (I LOVE my Keurig!), so I had to find another way to avoid wasting the coffee beans.

Photo_12

I decided that I would make chocolate covered coffee beans using chocolate leftover from my holiday candy marathon. I begain with this basic recipe. I don’t have shortening to smooth out the chocolate, but I found that you can substitute coconut oil for it and I do have that which is much healthier (as far as chocolate covered coffee beans go)!

Photo_21

I melted both white chocolate and milk chocolate with enough coconut oil to get it to the right consistency for dipping (about 1 teaspoon of coconut oil per cup of chocolate chips) in coffee mugs.

Photo_3

Then, I dipped the coffee beans in the chocolate and used a fork to fish them out and allow them to drain excess chocolate.

I placed the chocolate covered beans on wax paper and separated them a bit. I quickly decided that there wasn’t enough chocolate, and despite my painstaking dripping of chocolate, I drizzled more on top. Never enough chocolate.

Photo_4

Apparently never enough caffeine either…Only 3 beans has 36 milligrams of caffeine! It is recommended by the Mayo Clinic that we consume 200-300 milligrams per day (unless there are other health conditions present). So, we can’t just eat these like candy, even if it is tempting.

I did create one variation. I had more white chocolate so I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and dipped beans in the white chocolate cinnamon mixture. Yum!

They didn’t turn out in perfectly rounded bean shaped goodies. I haven’t quite mastered that yet… But they are good!

Photo205

Leave a Reply

