Breakin’ A Leg in the Kitchen

Today’s challenge was an interesting mix of familiar and new, simple and challenging. My mystery items included fennel, chestnuts, and crab legs.

Image43

The familiar part…crab legs. I LOVE crab legs. My dad devloped an allergy in his 40’s and I always fear that I’ll develop allergies later in life too. So far, so good though.

The new part…fennel annd chestnuts. I honestly can’t recall a time I’ve eaten either. And I’ve never cooked with either.

The simple part…Joe did give my permission to use the internet. A very generous relaxation of the rules thanks to two unfamiliar ingredients for me.

The challenging part…using the internet but still making it a fun challenge. Finding something that would work with ingredients that I already had in the house. Even though the internet was allowed, and extra shopping trip was not allowed.

I found this recipe for chestnut and apple stuffing. I had most of the ingredients, so I tweaked it a bit. I did not have challah bread but I did have some homemade gluten free bread I’d made last week. I roughly chopped it and toasted it.

Image44

I added parsley and onion sauteed in butter and tossed the bread.

Image45

I added chopped apples and chestnuts. And finally, chicken broth and an egg. Funny thing – I never kept broth on hand until I started these cooking challenges. They come in handy.

Image46

I baked it and it was yummy! I should have added more chestnuts, but otherwise I’ll definitely make this again. Need other ideas for apples? Check out my three course apple meal.

Image51

When I did a little research on the fennel I kept reading that it had a licorice taste. I was amazed at the strength of the licorice smell as soon as I cut into it! I made Joe stop playing video games to come smell it (yep, you read that right).

Image47

I sliced it and tossed it in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and sea salt and roasted it for about 30 minutes. I don’t really like licorice, but I did like this. And even with roasting, the licorice taste was still strong.

Image49

I rinsed the thawed crablegs and cut slits into each leg. This helps cook inside the legs and to make the legs a little easier to break while eating.

Image48

I boiled water, added butter, minced garlic, and lemon slices. I added the legs and boiled them for about 7 minutes. There are other ways to cook crab legs, but honestly, my favorite way ever is  grilled crablegs. Just a completely different taste.

Image50

The final meal was pretty tasty. The fennel actually tasted really nice when mixed with the stuffing, so if I were to make it again I would add the fennel instead of roasting it separately. Crableg dinners are delicious, but they are a lot of work. Not the cooking part, but the leg breaking part.

Image52
Leave a Reply

