Wild Thyme

I love supporting local business and I love learning new things. Tonight was a great opportunity to do both. Thanks to the invitation from friends, we visited Wild Thyme. This is a local cooking school and they do great cooking lessons, cooking competitions, dinner mysteries, and other fun events focused on food. I had heard great things, but this was our first chance to go.

The atmosphere is amazing. It is small, state of the art, and intimate. There were only about 10-12 of us there and the chef was great at fielding questions, inviting us to the front of the kitchen to observe, and bring things out for us to see and smell.

photo 1(8)

We started with a salad, and then we got to the good stuff. Tonight’s main entree was steak au poivre, brussel sprouts, and gourmet mashed potatoes.

The steak was cooked so perfectly. It was pepper coated, seared, and finished in the stove (similar to what I tried to do in my surf and turf challenge). However, this was perfectly cooked (check out that photo!), while my previous attempt was slightly overdone. Also it is best to sear steak in grapeseed, flax, or coconut oil because of the smoking point of various oils. I had been trying to sear steak using olive oil. To make brussel sprouts better, you should remove the bitter triangular core. They blanched, roasted, and then sauteed them and they were pretty tasty. Finally, the mashed potatoes were made using white truffle oil to give it the best flavor.

photo 3(4)

We finished the night with a cranberry-cherry bourbon bread pudding. Our chef/instructor used french bread soaked in egg, sugar, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice that had been baked, tossed with dried fruits, and then topped with a buttery bourbon sauce. It was delicious and not heavy like other bread puddings I’ve had.

photo 4(4)

What a fun night! I can’t wait to go back for another cooking event! Interested in other cooking events I’ve been to? Check out my Sushi Rolling Class or my Soups On events.

One thought on “Wild Thyme

  1. […] oil. Why coconut oil? See my post on what I learned about cooking steak at a cooking class with Wild Thyme. After both sides were seared, I placed the steak in the oven to finish cooking. While the steaks […]

Leave a Reply

