One Skillet Jambalaya

The last time we went to the grocery, I pulled out my list to make sure we had everything we wanted. I’m a planner and I like lists. I rarely divert from my list. And on this particular shopping day, my list was complete: chicken, bread, eggs, almond milk, bananas, apples, broccoli, sweet potatoes. But then I saw smoked sausage, and I can’t explain it, but I had to have it. I also had to have the Ben and Jerry’s Cherry Garcia Ice Cream…

image(73)

I wasn’t sure what I planned to do with it. Should I throw it in the crockpot one day? Nope. Should I use it for a big weekend breakfast? Tempting but nope. I settled on making an easy jambalaya that would only require one knife, one cutting board, and one skillet. The fewer dishes we can dirty, the better.

First I chopped the smoked sausage, one yellow onion, one green pepper, 3/4 of a container of grape tomatoes, and one can of green chile peppers. I sauteed this in 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 minced cloves of garlic until the sausage was brown.

image(74)

I added 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of rice. The seasoning is a little tricker because we like it quite spicy and I didn’t exactly measure the spices. I used 4-5 tablespoons of cayenne pepper, 2-3 tablespoons of paprika, a few shakes of oregano, and a few shakes of dried bay leaves.

image(75)

To give it a little extra kick, I added Sriracha.

image(76)

I let the dish simmer for about 25 minutes to get the rice tender.

image(77)

It was so good and definitely warming on a cold winter day. I couldn’t stop eating it. Luckily, I have a little leftover for lunch tomorrow. I learned a few things about Jambalaya after cooking. My jambalaya was the creole style as opposed to cajun style because I included tomatoes. Also, jambalaya typically includes the “holy trinity” of vegetables (onion, celery, bell pepper). However, I did not have celery and I only included one type of meat. With a few changes based on what I had available, I’m still really happy with how it tasted.

I bet it would be fun to go to the annual Jambalaya Festival. Road trip, anyone?

image(78)

2 thoughts on “One Skillet Jambalaya

  1. […] Although not intentional, this is my second post in a row involving sausage recipes. My last recipe was my own version of jambalaya. […]

  2. MMM says:

    “The fewer dishes we can dirty, the better.”

Leave a Reply

