Crockpot Wednesday – Oxtail Over Thai Noodles

On Monday’s food challenge, Joe gave me a choice between ribs and oxtail. I chose to make ribs and cabbage slaw. I decided to save the oxtail for Crockpot Wednesday. I’ve never cooked with oxtail before, so I did a little research and I learned two things. First, they aren’t even oxtails! Second, they need to cook for a long time to get tender, so saving them for the crockpot was a great decision.

photo 1(12)

This is a very simple recipe. I added a bag of frozen mirepoix (onions, celery, carrots). Otherwise known as the “holy trinity” of cooking. I heard that in a cooking class I took, but now I can’t remember which one it was. I chopped a fresh shallot, green pepper, and minced two cloves of garlic.

photo 2(8)

Finally, I covered the mixture with water and added a splash of red wine (about 1/4 a cup).

photo 3(8)

I cooked it on low for 10 hours. I served it over thai rice noodles (Joe helped with the noodles). The tail was surprisingly tender and tasty.

photo 2(9)

There are many other recipes I’d like to try with oxtail:

African Oxtail Stew

Jamaican Stew

Country Oxtail

Curry Oxtail

Oxtail Dumplings

Which one would you like me to try next?

Leave a Reply

