Sriracha Roasted Lamb Shank and Zucchini with Blackberry Pear Compote

I am so excited that I had a food challenge for the first time in a few weeks! My mystery ingredients this week included lamb shanks, bosc pears, sriracha, and zucchini.

image(114)

First, I coated the lamb in sriracha. I seared it in the grill pan for about 3 minutes on each side. The entire house smelled like smoky sriracha! Our eyes were actually burning! Did you know Sriracha sauce is named after a town called Si Racha?

 

image(115)image(116)

I added the lamb and sliced zucchini to a pan and covered it with foil. I baked it at 350 degrees for one hour and 15 minutes.

image(117)

While the lamb baked, I boiled the pears. Joe was careful to point out that they were Bosc pears which are slightly different and less sweet than other pears. I put a pear into the food processor with about 8 blackberries and blended them into a compote. A traditional compote includes either sugar or syrup, but I didn’t want the sweetness to be overpowering. I just wanted a little sweetness to contrast with the sriracha.

image(118) image(119)

The final dish was pretty good. The shanks were not as lean as I would have liked, and the sriracha flavor didn’t come through as spicy as I would have liked. Also, the seeds in the blackberries were a little annoying. This dish has potential, but was not my favorite compared to other dishes I’ve created. My favorite part was the zucchini which had cooked in the lamb juices and sriracha. They had a nice kick to them and the addition of a little grated parmesan was tasty. If I were to do it over, I would get a leaner cut of lamb. I would marinate it in sriracha overnight, and I would blend the pears with a different fruit. Maybe pears and apricots?

photo(212)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sriracha Roasted Lamb Shank and Zucchini with Blackberry Pear Compote

  1. […] so good! We don’t buy lamb often, but when we do I love it. In past blogs I’ve tried sriracha roasted lamb shank with blackberry pear compote and lamb […]

  2. […] option I had. I added about a teaspoon of sriracha. I like sriracha in other dishes too, like my sriracha roasted lamb shanks. The dish turned out really yummy. My first bite still tasted like it wasn’t hot enough, but […]

Leave a Reply

