Paleo Pepper and Sausage “Pasta”

You know you are eating good spices when it makes your nose run. What? You don’t want to talk about runny noses and dinner in the same blog? But, that is how I felt about this recipe. It was just good spices thanks to a red pepper sausage and jalapeno.

A few months ago I had a cooking challenge that included two specialty sausages: andouille and red pepper sausage. In that post, I made sausage cabbage wraps and spicy sausage and sweet potato mash. I didn’t use all of the sausage and decided to save some for another challenge. Today was the lucky day.

First, I halved and baked a spaghetti squash with the rind up on 375 degrees for about 45 minutes.

image(121)

While the spaghetti squash baked, I crumbled the sausage and added one green pepper, one fourth of a white onion, one jalapeno, and three large mushrooms into olive oil and cooked it on medium for about a half hour.

image(123)image(122)

I warmed my homemade sauce (I had some leftover from making pizzas over the weekend). In a nutshell, it was just slowly simmered onion, garlic, and tomatoes blended until smooth.

image(124)

I had never tried spaghetti squash until a little over a year ago. I am still amazed at how easily it comes out of the rind and how much it actually looks like pasta.

image(125)

Meat, veggies, homemade sauce, and a little shredded parmesan to finish off this tasty and perfectly spicy dish!

image(126)

Leave a Reply

