Every meeting should involve food

Tonight’s cooking challenge was less about secret ingredients, and more about cooking something to please 3 friends who came over for a working dinner meeting with Joe. They requested lamb.  They got lamb… and a salad, my special mashed potatoes, and a white chocolate covered strawberry cheesecake.

First, I made the cheesecake so that it would have time to set and chill. And I have to be honest, I cheated a little. It isn’t from scratch. I just added my own personal touches to a box mix for cheesecake. To make it my own, I first dipped strawberries into white chocolate. I then mixed the cheesecake crust and filling as indicated on the box. To the filling, I added the leftover white chocolate and mashed strawberries.

photo 1(18) photo 2(14)

I sliced the strawberries and arranged them on the cheesecake. The finished product was refrigerated for a few hours and I was happy with how it turned out. In the future I will add more strawberries to the mix and I will try a cheesecake from scratch.

photo 4(11)

A few hours later, I started the actual dinner. I started boiling skin on red potatoes. I always quarter these to make them cook faster.

image(128)

I put the lamb sirloins out for about 30 minutes so that they weren’t as cold when I started to sear them. I lightly salted and peppered them before searing.

image(127) image(129)

For the sirloins, I made a parsley, mint, and rosemary chimichurri sauce. I had made traditional chimichurri sauce in past meals, but had never tried it with parsley and mint which were selected specifically for the lamb. I used about a half cup of olive oil, 1.5 cups of parsley, a teaspoon of fresh rosemary, a tablespoon of fresh mint, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, one minced clove of garlic, and a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I thought it was a little too oily, so I had to spoon some of the olive oil out. The mint was harder to taste than I had hoped. Overall, it was an ok topping. I just need to work on perfecting it.

photo 1(17) photo 4(10)

After the lamb sirloins had seared on both sides, I put them in the oven at a low temperature to finish cooking. I made a salad of mixed greens, red and yellow cherry tomatoes, and goat cheese crumbles. I made a homemade dressing (not pictured) of olive oil and black cherry balsamic vinegar. This is the same balsamic vinegar I used to make a sweet potato caprese in a previous post.

photo 2(12)

After the potatoes had boiled for about 15 minutes, I added them to a bowl with fresh chopped chives, onion and chive cream cheese, 3 tablespoons of butter, about 1/2 cup of milk, and a pinch of salt. I mixed it by hand so that they potatoes would be a little chunky. I love these potatoes and unlike other mashed potatoes I’ve had, they reheat really well. Luckily, there are some leftover for lunch tomorrow! Or I could use them in a meal makeover.

photo 3(13) photo 1(16)

Finally, I pulled the lamb out of the oven and served it with the chimichurri. The lamb was cooked perfectly and it was so good! We don’t buy lamb often, but when we do I love it. In past blogs I’ve tried sriracha roasted lamb shank with blackberry pear compote and lamb sliders.

image(130)

Now, here is the part where I fail as a food blogger. I forgot to take a picture of a plate meal! It was so yummy that we just starting shoving the food into our faces. I plan to make all three components again sometime, maybe I’ll catch a picture then.

3 thoughts on “Every meeting should involve food

  1. Laurie says:

    Heath said the food was awesome. I’m a little jealous, actually 🙂 We should have our own meeting! Don’t feel bad about the ‘not from scratch’ cheesecake. They’re hard! I’ve made a couple but neither of them have been that great. Thank goodness for the Cheesecake Factory!

  2. […] marinade. I’ve used this black cherry balsamic in two recipes (sweet potato caprese and salad dressing) now and I am loving […]

  3. […] White Chocolate and Strawberry Cheesecake […]

Leave a Reply

