Southern Surf and Turf

I’m back!

Not only am I back in the kitchen, but I’m back on a new blogging site after the previous home of Bites By Brandi announced that it would dissolve.

Joe must have been feeling fancy for this challenge, because the ingredients he brought me this week were gourmet! In this photo, we have lobster tail, filet mignon, bacon, and panko crumbs.

Image

First, I wrapped one piece of bacon around each steak and secured it with toothpicks. I patted a spice called Oregon Trail Juniper Berry Spice (thanks, Nancy!) onto each side of the steak and let it sit until it reached room temperature.

Image

While the steaks were getting to room temperature, I began frying the bacon.

Image

I cut the shell off of the underside of each lobster tail.

Image

I mashed one minced clove of garlic and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika into 2 tablespoons of butter. This mixture was placed on top of the lobster tails which were wrapped in foil and baked at about 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

Image

I already had yellow tomatoes in my refrigerator. Because of writing this post, I actually learned that yellow tomatoes are different nutritionally from red or green tomatoes, and not just in color. I sliced them,

Image

Dipped them in coconut flour, then egg, then panko crumbs,

Image

and fried them in bacon grease until golden brown.

Image

I used another part of the bacon grease to get a nice sear on the steaks. Once seared, I placed them in the oven to “finish them” as Chef Ramsey would say on Hell’s Kitchen. Apparently, this is a popular steak cooking method for restaurants.

Image

Finally, I used the crumbled, cooked bacon for the salad. This is my southern version of surf and turf. Nearly everything on the plate used bacon in some way. Bacon makes it southern, right? Even if it doesn’t make it southern, it did make it tasty.

Image

2 thoughts on “Southern Surf and Turf

  1. […] My secret ingredient for this recipe was finely chopped home grown and preserved peppers (thanks, Nancy and Troy!). This is the second post that included ingredients from our friends. Nancy and Troy also contributed to my Southern Surf and Turf. […]

  2. […] It was pepper coated, seared, and finished in the stove (similar to what I tried to do in my surf and turf challenge). However, this was perfectly cooked (check out that photo!), while my previous attempt was […]

Leave a comment