Chicken and Broccoli Casserole

I did not have an official challenge tonight. But, as the end of the week nears, I usually have a few things in my refrigerator that I need to finish. This week, I took some of those leftover items and turned it into a simple, low carb, and relatively healthy casserole.

First, I sauteed one pound of chicken breast, a minced clove of garlic, half an onion, and 6 or 7 white mushrooms in olive oil. I added black pepper, cumin, and coriander (about a half teaspoon of each).

Image

While the chicken was cooking, I chopped one bunch of broccoli. Broccoli has never been a favorite vegetable of mine, but if you chop it finely enough, you can barely taste it.

Image

I stirred the ingredients together with one cup of cheddar cheese.

Image

I looked for other options as the casserole topping, but most of them were things that either didn’t sound that healthy or that I didn’t have at home. So, I used another cup of cheddar cheese to top the casserole.

Image

I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. I was pleased with the dish!

Image

2 thoughts on “Chicken and Broccoli Casserole

  1. […] to the dish when I read the description. You may remember from my last cooking challenge – Chicken Broccoli Casserole – that I don’t really like the taste of broccoli. I think this is a poor description […]

  2. […] loosely based the recipe on one I found on Pinterest for spinach artichoke chicken and my own chicken, mushroom, and broccoli casserole. They have become favorites around my house. It has made multiple appearances, so I keep artichoke […]

Leave a comment